top of page

I think we all have a little Sally in us...

I listen to Sally's song a lot when I am writing something romantic with gothic flavours...... so my characters are like Jack the Pumpkin Man or Sally or genie- flawed, impulsive, misunderstood, perhaps not even liked by many as one turns a page, but they are not evil. They make mistakes like all of us.

Writing gothic style stories also help me to reflect on our struggles. As someone who deals with the horrors of mental health issues, I experienced and observed the need to belong . I also experienced and observed that awkward uncomfortable feeling more like we are "the other” one who fits nowhere.

But, you know what….despite our sadness, and struggles, we may even feel like monsters.....maybe like Sally- stuck in a rut, dreaming of things that feel out of reach and all that while we feel ugly (metaphorically and literally speaking).

Sally and Zombies, spirits will always fascinate and creep us out and often we may even reflect upon these because a monster also represents our internal struggles, fears, repulsion, compulsion and depression.

In my stories, the protagonists will battle with traumas and deal with struggles because I want us all to understand that we are not alone.

And, I think we all have a little Sally in us 😉 a little shy and insecure about ourselves, but wanting to do what is right for everyone. 😉


 

Happy Halloween!

I'm a multi genre MM, FF and MF indie author from Turkey. In day time I work as a mental health nurse therapist and at night I shape-shift into an owl and write tales of love, mystery and heaven knows what ekse that inspires me so early in the morning.

I am very much into HEA stories that involve wounded souls…. I promote compassion and non-judgemental stance in my stories so all my characters are fallible and troubled souls who yearn to find their soul-mates.

I live in Australia with my Hubbyzilla and fur-son, Ozzy. Our home is built by a nature reserve so I have many visitors and friends from the woods- geckos, bobtails, lizards, magpies, and big spiders who help us to reduce mosquitto numbers too! As you can imagine I love all my neighbours 😊

Today I'm going to be talking about my paranormal stories, starting with Retribution which is a standalone story from Tales of Myth and Lore!

Retribution- https://amzn.to/2QTBEwy

Even in death, his restless spirit sought retribution, and consequentially he was trapped in between realms. As if it wasn’t enough, a meddling zombie tried to save a dying man, complicating all of his plans...

This book has a few interesting themes:

  • A historical/fantasy Arabic tale- tragic start with a heart-melting romantic end

  • Creepy scenes and sprinklings of romance and budding love

  • Hurt/comfort

  • An angry spirit in a palace

  • An abandoned fortress in a dessert

  • Enemies to lovers, involving a wounded human, a zombie and a genie

  • Forced proximity

  • Egyptian Gods and Goddeses

  • Sexual awakening

  • Long journey to find what the heart desires



 
This is most definitely not your typical romance. It’s a bit silly, whimsical, and fun. Oddly, it’s entertaining as it’s not what I’m used to reading. Fun characters give a fairytale quality to the story. It’s a short tale with a happy ending that leaves you smiling. I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page